Breeders' Cup


Breeders' Cup

The Breeders' Cup World Championships is an annual series of Grade I Thoroughbred horse races. The Breeders' Cup Thoroughbred Championship is widely recognized as the season ending championship of thoroughbred racing. The first running was at Hollywood Park 34 years ago. The Breeders' Cup is held at different parks in North America on a rotating basis. The Breeders' Cup was founded in 1982 by John R. Gaines, a leading thoroughbred owner and breeder. This is the single richest 2 days in sports worth $28 Million in prize money this year. Each Breeders' Cup race has a purse of at least $1 million, Breeders' Cup Classic has a Purse of $6 Million

Founded 35 years ago, the Breeders Cup is recognized as the Super Bowl of horse racing. Trainers, Jockeys, and Owners all understand that winning a Breeders Cup race increases the value of your horse as a stud or broodmare as well as increasing the likelihood of winning an Eclipse Award at the end of the year. Of course, the main reason to run a horse in the Breeders Cup is because the purse of each race is over $1 million dollars! In 2016, Santa Anita hosted the Breeders' Cup which was a record ninth time. The 2017 event was held at Del Mar for the first time. 2018, the event will be held at Churchill Downs for a ninth time as well.

The races currently run are

  • $1 million Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf
  • $1 million Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf
  • $1 million Breeders' Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint (new for 2018)
  • $1 million Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile
  • $1 million Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint
  • $1 million Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint
  • $2 million Breeders' Cup Sprint
  • $2 million Breeders' Cup Mile
  • $2 million Breeders' Cup Distaff
  • $2 million Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies
  • $2 million Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf
  • $2 million Breeders' Cup Juvenile
  • $4 million Breeders' Cup Turf
  • $6 million Breeders' Cup Classic

Breeders' Cup Classic

The Breeders' Cups Classic is the biggest of all of the breeders’ Cup races as the purse is of $6 Million. The Classic is now regarded as the fourth leg of horse racing's Grand Slam of Thoroughbred racing — the traditional Triple Crown (Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes) plus the Breeders' Cup Classic. American Pharoah's Triple Crown win in 2015 became the first horse to ever accomplish this.

The Breeders' Cup Classic is considered by many to be the top Thoroughbred race of the year in the United States.

The 2018 Breeders' Cup will be held on November 2nd & 3rd,2018.

Breeders Cup Classic Previous winners

Year Winner Time Purse Track
2018 TBA
2017 Gun Runner 02:01.3 $6,000,000 Del Mar
2016 Arrogate 02:00.1 $6,000,000 Santa Anita
2015 American Pharoah 02:00.1 $5,000,000 Keeneland
2014 Bayern 01:59.9 $5,000,000 Santa Anita
2013 Mucho Macho Man 02:00.7 $5,000,000 Santa Anita
2012 Fort Larned 02:00.1 $5,000,000 Santa Anita
2011 Drosselmeyer 02:04.3 $5,000,000 Churchill Downs
2010 Blame 02:02.3 $5,000,000 Churchill Downs
2009 Zenyatta 02:00.3 $5,000,000 Santa Anita
2008 Raven's Pass 01:59.3 $5,000,000 Santa Anita
2007 Curlin 02:00.6 $5,000,000 Monmouth Park

BetUS Online Wager Limits

Minimum: $1.00
Maximum: $10,000.00
*Limits are per wager.

Note: All tracks have a maximum payout in affect according to track rating. BetUS reserves the right to limit individual players at our discretion. For questions, or more details on wager limits please call us toll-free at 1-800-973-6659.

Payout Limits